Logic vs. Guts

I’ve seen this photo floating around my Facebook news feed. Several days ago I was contemplating on what is best – to be right-brained or left-brained. In conventional schools, the competition is whoever gets the highest grade. Sure, you can dance. Sure, you can play a song on the piano just by hearing the song once. Sure, you can sing. But those things won’t make you get high grades, unless we’re referring to PE and Music.

I am not belittling PE and Music and other non-academic stuff. But we have to admit that there’s a reason why they call it “non-academic” subjects in academes. The competition to get high grades in “academic” subjects is intense for the left-brained people. Don’t get me wrong. I admit that I have very little, if any, creative side to me. I’m more of the left-brained person – always thinking, most of the time in numbers, and almost always analyzing. Sometimes I wonder if this has any connection at all why women are smarter than men. LOL [Men might spite me, and at this rate I’m giving myself a zero chance to get a boyfriend lol]

Point is, I will agree with the photo that the right brain should be portrayed as such. It’s all about imagination, creativity, music. Life. There was a point when I wished I had been right-brained instead of left. But I’m still grateful for being left-brained. I’m thankful for passing the subjects, though not with soaring colors, but yeah, it flew.

And this is where I get defensive. I totally disagree with the portrayal of the left brain. Sure, the brain is referred to as gray matter but it doesn’t have to be portrayed as dull as that. For people like me, it stimulates brain flow especially if there’s some intellectual conversation with another person. I think active brain neurons should have been drawn there as well. 😉

 

Words in the picture too small? Here’s what it says.

Left Brain:

“I am the left brain. I am a scientist. A mathematician. I love the familiar. I categorize. I am accurate. Linear. Analytical. Strategic. I am practical. Always in control. A master of words and language. Realistic. I calculate equations and play with numbers. I am order. I am logic. I know exactly who I am.”

Right Brain:
“I am the right brain. I am creativity. A free spirit. I am passion. Yearning. Sensuality. I am the sound of roaring laughter. I am taste. The feeling of sand beneath bare feat. I am movement. Vivid colors. I am the urge to paint on an empty canvas. I am boundless imagination. Art. Poetry. I sense. I feel. I am everything I wanted to be.”

Are you left-brained or right-brained? 🙂

One thought on “Logic vs. Guts

Leave a Reply

