Contemplation

Being unemployed gave me a lot of time to think… and contemplate about a lot of things. I realized I have been so proud and I thought I could do anything. However, I was not employed in 3 seconds. I have been underqualified, overqualified, “can’t be afforded” and all kinds of misfits into a job. I have asked God again and again why I cannot get a job, and I started wondering what I will do with my life.

Before, when an interviewer would ask me what I want to do or be in the future, I’d tell them I want to be a C-executive. The last two weeks I’ve realized that I wanted something more. I wanted to still be able to do things that I love doing – like traveling – even though I have a job. I want to not be limited working just a job. I want something more. I want to shake things up, change the way those around me think. Change the politics, change processes. I want to change the game. It’s a big dream, I know. I don’t know how I will do it but I am hoping I will have the opportunity to. Right now, just take one step at a time.

Yesterday, I accepted an offer from an IT service company. My head reeled around the possibilities of what I could do with what I will be earning. I have made myself a budget. In the end, I planned to allocate a part of my salary to sponsor a child’s education through a foundation.

I’m not earning a large amount of money. I just felt that I should give back, and not go back to that proud person that I was.

2 thoughts on “Contemplation

  1. Oh Lord! This post was everything me. I just recently moved back home from the States and have been unemployed for 8 months..and when I had attended 2 interviews, I was told that they would get back to me-which they never did since 5 months ago..I decided to go out there to volunteer with an NGO, and a friend of a friend of mine helped me score a gig at a radio house( of which nothing in my profile related to that) again, without pay and I figured I’ve been doing this now, enjoying life, taking care of my family, and what seemed like the greatest feat- creating a blog site goes to show that God is good to those who allow Him work through them.

    1. I am glad to know that there is someone out there with the same experience. I believe we go through circumstances for certain reasons, and I believe He has the best interests for us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

